thestoryofmeaningfuluse

A Magazine Capturing the Story of Health- For People, Environment, Economy & Habitat

Lesson Learned: After the Fall – Joe Sibilia’s Sustainable View of Riding a Bike

Publisher’s Welcome: Welcome,  Joe Sibilia, CEO of CSRwire.com.  Joe offers his  point of view on bike safety after a personal experience being hit by a SUV riding his bike.  This will be indexed with other reports tied to Frederic Page’s first report on  If Road Safety is Relevant?

Can a bike be primary transportation and a sustainable practice?

by Joe Siblia

@joe_sibilia

Springfield MA

Sustainability takes discipline and commitment. Part of it for me is riding my bike to work and around town. I don’t own a car.
Late afternoon, on St. Patrick’s Day, after a long winter of snow, cold and ice, the sun was shining, spring w…as in the air, the temperature was warm and my bike was calling me for some attention.

As I was riding home, clad in a short-sleeved shirt, a green sweatshirt (it was St. Patrick’s Day afterall and Oki demanded I wear green), my dad’s pants and some hiking boots, a speeding car on Wilbraham Road in Springfield, Mass. hit me hard on my left side and sent me flying.

They kept going. My friend Doug commented that most people would stop, even for an animal. They must have been in a hurry.
As I was flying in the air, I noticed the speed of the black SUV, with tinted windows, before I crashed into the pavement, slid over the tree line and landed on the sidewalk, headfirst.

It wasn’t the first time I’ve been hit. The other two times were skirmishes on ice and snow and a slow race for position at a traffic light – minor bumps. This time it was different.
Since the blood was flowing freely from my head, arms and leg, I thought it best to stay put for a moment and gain my composure. I removed my sweatshirt and wrapped my head in the t-shirt and pushed the sweatshirt on my arm and leg, closed my eyes and began to pray.

The first thing that came to my mind was the need to get a really good, cool looking, helmet (I’ve foolishly stayed away from safety gear, as a result of my own ignorance and ego).


The first comment I heard was, “Dude, are you dead?” Since I heard the enlightened concerned citizen, I knew I was not.

As the rubber necking took hold and the crowd gathered, I took the time to begin a meditative practice. I thought it a great opportunity to remove myself from my body and watch the process unfold as a witness to events.

The cops arrived before the ambulance and made sure I was not an escaped criminal and any warrants for my arrest did not exist. I was cleared to remain in my present state.
Further up the street, some onlookers found the mirror and some parts from the hit and run car. My bike was behind me and my goggles, bag and reflector were strewn about.


Trying to integrate sustainable living practices in a fast paced business environment requires constant daily attention.

Riding a bike, taking public transportation, using recycled materials, recycling, composting, and giving value to that which has been abandoned, takes a lot of energy. It’s distracting from the pursuit of making money.

Some may say the costs are too high. I offer another point of view. Friends I haven’t seen in a while have visited me. People have contacted me to extend their regards.

I’ve watched some movies I wanted to see and I’ve been served meals in bed. Maybe next week I’ll get hit by a truck and really have some luxuries.

Let us not be distracted by the conventional view of the costs of sustainability. Let us look at all the advantages – cleaner air, water, land and a more caring society.

Let us look at all our challenges as a time to grow and experiment with a new beginning. I’ll start with a new helmet, more sidewalk riding and greater advocacy for bike paths on and off the roads.

Sustainability has some costs, but the benefits are far greater. Live well, do good things and stay in touch.

___________________________

Authors Bio:

Joe Sibilia is a visionary of the socially responsible business movement, he is founder and CEO of Meadowbrook Lane Capital (MBLC), described by the Wall Street Journal as a “socially responsible investment bank” specializing in turning values into valuation.

Joe  is also the CEO of CSRwire, the social responsibility newswire service that distributes and archives corporate social responsibility/sustainability news to journalists, analysts, investors, activists, academics, public relations and investor relations professionals worldwide.

Publishers Note:

Thestoryofmeaningfuluse.com community wishes Joe good healing and recovery from his broken bones; and we welcome his voice to the hall of people in our community, who understand road safety is so much more than driving and road conditions.  Road Safety is about creating a new infrastructure and understanding so bikers can commute along side drivers safely.

2 Comments»

  Rosalinda Sanquiche wrote @

Welcome to the car-free club of joyful biking. My first month was exhilaration, my 2nd and 3rd questioned my sanity and looked for the good used Beamer I deserved. Years later, I dislike the days weather requires a taxi. As more of us join the ranks, perhaps more car drivers will notice, take care or even make the switch!

  Terry Kelliher wrote @

I try’d living without a car for a short period until I too was hit by a car. It seems cars and bikes are not meant to be near one another. Motorists are not akin to sharing the road with others. The text and phone distractions of todays drivers makes the odds of being hit on a bicycle even higher. SIdewalks are the way!


Leave a Reply

